Stockholm University Departments Ranking Courses Acceptance Rate, and Entry Requirements

  • by

Stockholm University is a popular Swedish University that was founded in the year 1878 as a college and it was given University status in 1960. Stockholm University has grown to become one of the largest Universities in the world and it was included among the top 100 Universities in the World by ARWU(Academic Ranking of World Universities).

Stockholm University Ranking

Stockholm University is not only popular in Sweden but in other parts of the world hence the reason why it was ranked among the top 10 Universities in the world by ARWU. Stockholm University’s local and international ranking is quite impressive also it would interest you to know that some of their departments are also doing well in terms of international ranking. Below are some of Stockholm University’s ranking:

  • 114th in Best Global Universities
  • 43rd In Best Global Universities in Europe
  • 4th in Best Global Universities in Sweden
  • 23rd in Geosciences
Stockholm University Course Acceptance Rate

The acceptance rate for admission into Stockholm University is 24% according to and this makes it among the best Universities in Sweden in terms of acceptance rate.

Stockholm University Entry Requirements

The entry requirements for the bachelor’s and master’s programmes are different so take note of each of them. The general entry requirement for the bachelor’s level studies is a completed upper secondary school education moreover note that where you completed the secondary school matters a lot in addition, students whose grades were received after 31 December 2009, would be required to possess and additional Mathematics requirements.

Stockholm University Departments

Stockholm University has seven(7) faculties and each of them falls under different areas and in total, there are two(2) areas namely the Human Science academic area and Science academic area.

Human Science Academic Area
Faculty Of Humanities
  • Department of Archaeology and Classical Studies
  • Department of Asian, Middle Eastern, and Turkish Studies
  • Department of English
  • Department of Ethnology, History of Religions and Gender Studies
  • Department of History
  • Department of Culture and Aesthetics
  • Department of Humanities and Social Sciences Education
  • Department of Language Education
  • Department of Linguistics
  • Department of Media Studies
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Romance Studies and Classics (In Swedish)
  • Department of Slavic and Baltic Studies, Finnish, Dutch and German
  • Department of Swedish Language and Multilingualism
  • Department of Accelerator
Faculty Of Law

The faculty of law has one department namely:

  • Department of Law
Faculty Of Social Sciences

The faculty of Social Sciences comprises of the following:

  • Department of Computer and Systems Sciences
  • Department of Child and Youth Studies
  • Department of Criminology
  • Department of Economic History and International Relations
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Human Geography
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Public Health Sciences
  • Department of Social Anthropology
  • Department of Social Work
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Special Education
  • Department of Statistics
  • Institute for International Economic Studies (IIES)
  • Stockholm Business School
  • Stockholm Centre for Organizational Research (SCORE)
  • Swedish Institute for Social Research (SOFI)
Science Academic Area

The Science Academic Area comprises of the following faculties and departments

Mathematics-Physics Section

This comprises of the following departments:

  • Department of Astronomy
  • Department of Mathematics and Science Education (MND)
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Meteorology (MISU)
  • Department of Physics
Chemistry Section

This comprises of the following departments:

  • Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics (DBB)
  • Department of Organic Chemistry
  • Department of Materials and Environmental Chemistry (MMK)
Biology Section

The biology section comprises of the following departments:

  • Department of Biology Education (BIG)
  • Department of Molecular Biosciences, The Wenner-Gren Institute (MBW)
  • Department of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences (DEEP)
  • Department of Zoology
Section For Earth and Environmental Sciences

This section comprises of the following departments:

  • Department of Environmental Science
  • Department of Geological Sciences
  • Department of Physical Geography

Drop your comment below if you have any questions also share with your friends if you found it useful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *